Check and Log

 

-In what way did you simplify and select in your study ? Were you able to focus on simple shapes and patterns amid all the visual information available to you ?

When I was doing excercise where I needed to create foreground middle ground and background my attention was in informing each of the 3 layers in certain way which automatically took me away from the mode of recording everything I see  and rather only suggest the essentials. The thought of 3 different planes in distance made me to think of the landscape in groups or stripes of tones or hues, not so much of the details.

-How did you create a sense of distance and form in your sketches ?

The sense of distance was created by reducing the contrast between the tonal values and by midtones. Forms were simplified to their next closest geometrical values and sometimes things were grouped together in order to achieve this.

-How did you use light and shade? Was it successful?

I used the light and shade as I saw it, forinstance in the river ouse walk path that is how the light and shade areas were presented to me in the landscape, it was an interpretation of what I saw but I was true to it so I could not go wrong.

What additional preliminary work would have been helpful towards the larger study ?

Not sure what to say here.

Leave a Reply

